On College, Graduating and Time

It is done. Finished. Over.

Last week was my final visit to my college as a student. I didn’t think much of it. I didn’t encounter a sudden moment of realization. There was no change in me as I walked through the doors. The college building stood there, as it always has. There were no ominous silences or bittersweet realizations. It wasn’t melodramatic. Of course, one of the reasons for this could be that my mind was preoccupied with Tensor Calculus and the threat of a horrible last exam was more than enough to deter any other panic-inducing thoughts. It wasn’t until three hours later as I sat with my friends in a café that it began to sink in. Very slowly.

FullSizeRender (4)

The thing about college is, just like relativity, it messes with your concept of time. (Bet you didn’t see that one coming.) On one hand you look at the friends you’ve made and go, “Huh. I can’t believe I’ve only known you for three years. It feels longer than that.” And on the other, you put on your graduating cap and go, “I can’t believe three years passed so quickly!” See? You don’t have to travel at the speed of light (or stand dangerously close to a black hole) to understand that time is relative.

Bad Physics analogies aside, college was definitely a whirlwind of sorts. And now it is over and I’m still reeling. But that’s another story. I just wanted to drop by and say I’m back. Regular posting will (*hopefully*) recommence.

Oh, and before I forget. During the hiatus, I was nominated for two blog awards. And since the habit of procrastination doesn’t leave one that easily, I’ll just be sending huge shout-outs to these people – fellow science aficionados and all-out geeks:

If you aren’t already, go follow them! Unlike me, they’re pretty regular with their posting. (Maybe I ought to take some lessons from them.)

Anyway.

Until Next Time.

2 thoughts on “On College, Graduating and Time

  1. LAST DAY OF THE COLLEGE. There might be a riot of mixed emotions going inside you. To be sad? or to be happy? or to be both? You don’t know. You are just going with the phase. All the best with the upcomings. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

